The Art of War…and Revision

The Art of WarThe Art of War by Sun Tzu
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had, much the same as everyone else I’m sure, heard of this famous writing on warfare by the ancient Chinese General and philosopher Sun Tzu. I had never read it though for some reason. From the thickness of this specific edition of Tzu’s writings I thought it would be much longer, but the book is broken up into two sections. The original writings of Tzu are the first section and then the translator’s notes and historical context of the translation are provided in the 2nd half. The writings by Tzu really are timeless when it comes to warfare, even though modern tactics are quite a bit different than ancient Chinese strategies.

I was doing some research for revision that I’m working on with my current novel and I can honestly see myself reading this again and I took quite a few notes and highlighted many passages that I think will help make my book better and more militaristic. With the length of the original writings of Tzu there really is no excuse to not give this a read, you will probably learn something and be entertained at the same time.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

